Chris Callaghan

Judging Category: Age 8

Your judge is the choctastic, the magnificent, the talented Chris Callaghan. You can see his brilliant collection of books here. Chris is an award-winning children’s author responsible for spreading chocolate panic throughout the world (or at least parts of it) and it is reported that he quite enjoys it!

Prior to writing silly stories, Chris was a very serious environmental scientist, where he spent a lot of time on factory roofs (usually in the rain) measuring pollution. He also served in the Royal Air Force as an aircraft engineer, but he still thinks that flying involves a little bit of magic.

Chris is very happy to interact on Twitter & Instagram @callaghansstuff or find out more about his general goings on at www.chris-callaghan.com.

His book ‘The Great Chocoplot’ was described by the Guardian as “With an excellent cast of characters, laugh-out-loud moments, and witty and sharp observations, this is a great choice for fans of Dahl and Walliams (The Guardian)”

Chris has the following top tip: “Write about the things you love. Then, if you love writing it, there’s a good chance someone will love reading it.”